Club Standards

What is the standard award scheme?

The idea of the standards award scheme is to give runners in the club goal incentives to improve their race times.  In addition, it can also be a useful training tool to gauge improvement.

The scheme runs from 1st January to 31st December each year.

Runners will be awarded a certificate and medal appropriate to the standard achieved. Members will need to apply for their standard by completing the club standards form and sending it to the standards officer by the end December.

How does it work?

There are time standards for each age group. Your age category is your age on race day. Therefore, if your birthday means you change category part way through a year, the standard times before your birthday must be for the lower age category, and times after your birthday for the higher age category. Please see the club standards document that outlines the required times for each level

To be awarded a standard you must complete at least 3 distances (It will move to 5 distances for next year).  There are 10 distances for you to select from - 5k, 5 miles, 6 miles, 10k, 7 miles, 8 miles, 10 miles, half marathon, 20 miles and the Marathon.

All times must be achieved at recognised athletic affiliated events with accurately measured courses (no fun runs, cross country or off-road events).

Club Awards

The awards for the club standards scheme will be given out at the clubs annual presentation night.

The award will consist of a corresponding medal or prize and certificate for the achieved standard. A special prize will be issued by the club for anyone attaining the Diamond standard.

Please note: It would be very beneficial if the runners keep a record of the races that they gained the standard for.

Below are some examples of races that are eligible for club standards:

Parkruns, Valentines Day 10k, Norwich Half Marathon, Wymondham 20 Miler, Worsted 5 Miles, Wroxham 5k, London Marathon.

Greg Pearson,
27 Aug 2017, 11:05